How-To: VirtualBox Hive Server with Python Client

DeMar.is

Getting up and running with a Hive proof of concept is not very intuitive and required me to go through a mishmash of documents to find all of the pieces. I hope these instructions help somebody else get their proof of concept instance up and running sooner!

Baseline

My goal was to have a local running Hive Server instance that I could use to query various types of data to get a better idea of what was possible with Hive and how maintainable it would be in a future production architecture. This tutorial does not take into account any degree of hardening or security, nor major scalability.

I do all of my development on a Macbook Pro with 16GB of RAM, a 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7 and running OS X Yosemite. My proof of concept systems generally run on Docker using boot2docker, but in this case it was easier…

View original post 407 more words

